Let's Help Animals's Blog


Sasha – Day 2
July 24, 2009, 3:47 pm
Filed under: 1 | Tags: , ,

July 6, 2009

It was a rough night…but then most of my nights are rough (insomnia, pain, dogs in & out of bed…). I don’t usually close my bedroom door but I did last night, because I’m not sure if I can trust Sasha to have the run of the place unsupervised yet. I brought one of the dog beds laying around the living room into my room & put it on the floor next to my head. Kali & Oliver usually sleep on my bed with me (it’s a CA king)…if it’s cold, I’m the filling in a doggie sandwich! Kali is restless so she’s up & down a lot. When it was time for bed Oliver claimed the little bed on the floor, Kali was in the middle of the big bed, & I put Sasha in the dog bed on the bed. She didn’t stay there long…she wanted to sleep ON me. More precisely, draped over my neck! It seemed like dominant, possessive behavior – so I sat up and made her move. She tried to keep her head & front feet on my pillow & kept scratching my ear…I tried to move her further down & eventually she stayed. Everyone must’ve been happy because I didn’t hear any grumbling. Kali got me up around 5 as usual, to go to the bathroom. So everyone went out & did their thing & we went back to bed. At one point all 3 were on the bed with me.

Before I went to bed I started getting a migraine – got much worse through the night (nothing new to me). Too much stress & nerves & bad road food probably. Still feeling bad & thinking I’ve ruined my perfect little doggie family…wondering how awful a person I’d be if I took her back to the rescue. But then I remembered I sort of felt the same way after I brought Oliver home…now I can’t imagine life without him.

There’s been less growling today, but she has barked at Oliver a few times when he was closer to me than she was. Poor boy doesn’t know how to deal with it. I’m not sure either – other than to tell her No & praise her when she stops. I’ve also tried snapping my fingers or clapping to distract her.

Sasha’s very good walking on a leash…hardly pulled at all. Between the other 2, my arms are a few inches longer than they were a few years ago. I took them before the rush of walkers…since it was our first walk. We did meet 1 big lab…Kali is the worst, barking & lunging. Oliver gets really excited & has this super shrill bark, but he calms down when people pet him or he can smell the other dog. Problem is, most dogs keep their distance because of Kali, which further excites Oliver…I keep meaning to take treats to try to distract Kali so she won’t bark. I’m sure people see us & think, oh, no, it’s THOSE dogs. So today, Kali’s barking & lunging, the other owner was petting Oliver who was then quiet & happy, & Sasha was just standing calmly watching everything. The poor lab was very mellow & sweet but kept his distance. It was pretty hot & Kali was having a little trouble, so we turned around before the usual halfway point. We passed a group of kids & one of them said (I think about Sasha), “Aww, that one’s cute…They’re ALL cute!” That was nice to hear!

Sasha’s had 1 little accident. I didn’t see her do it but she had been standing right there a minute before. It almost looked like throw-up but I think it was pee…although it didn’t really smell like pee.

My aunt is still not talking to me…she thinks I’m crazy & shouldn’t have more than 2 dogs. She’s spending all her time in her room. (She usually never goes in her room…she sleeps on the living room couch.) πŸ™‚

Observations

Sasha is frightfully thin…her ‘rescue mom’ assured me she just has a thin frame. She almost reminds me of the dogs with the horrible hip bones sticking out on the Animal Cops shows. I want to feed her a bunch – & she wants to eat! But I don’t want to overcompensate too quickly.

I can’t wait to cut her hair – but I’m sure she’ll look like a skeleton when I do. I can’t get the bows out of her hair because they are matted in…I’ll eventually cut the little ponytails off.

I think she was in some kind of accident…sometimes she walks a little funny & has trouble jumping. It also seems like it hurts her hind end when I pick her up. Oliver was scared of being picked up at first…hopefully it’s the same with her, but I think it’s more. We’ll see on Friday, which is the soonest vet appt. I could get.

She wants to possess my lap. I’m trying to let her know it’s OK when it’s MY choice, not hers.

She’s already answering to her new name. πŸ˜€ I was in another room and said, “Sasha, come!” and she did! She also seems to know Sit. The dog door & stairs are no problem.

She doesn’t like waiting, but she waits her turn when I hand out the food bowls…she’s third in line, although Oliver doesn’t really care. As long as Kali’s first we have peace.

After she gets up from sleeping she stretches…puts her front legs out & CROSSES her paws while she stretches. So dainty!

So far she doesn’t seem to be a big barker. Oliver barks at noises – car doors in the lot, kids screaming outside the fence, dogs running behind the fence. Kali joins him too when she hears it (I think her hearing’s going). Sasha only barked a little when there were some dogs outside, I think. She also sat quietly at the screen door when the UPS guy dropped off a package, even though Oliver was upstairs barking as soon as the truck pulled up.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

